Celebrating 25 years!


PAWS Founding Board members (from left to right): Kym Rupeiks, Judy Eddy, Ann Smith, & Ann Frame.



Celebrating 25 years of making a difference at both ends of the leash!

As PAWS celebrates its 25th anniversary, we reflect on the incredible journey and countless local pets we’ve assisted over the years. Last weekend, I took a nostalgic trip through old photos, and it was heartwarming to witness the progress we’ve made since our founding in 1999.

Stepping into the organization in 2006, I witnessed our evolution from grassroots origins to a full-service animal welfare nonprofit. During this time, we gained recognition as the go-to organization for addressing animal-related issues around town. When we were approached to tackle the problem of dog waste on our trails, we responded by launching our free mutt mitt program. Since then, we’ve removed more than one million piles of dog waste from public lands. Addressing local pet-related issues has always been at the core of our mission, and even though we were founded in Jackson, PAWS has been providing services and funding to Teton County, ID and Star Valley, WY for more than a decade.

Our achievements in all three of our local communities speak for themselves.

PAWS has

  • Assisted more than 10,000 local pet owners in spaying or neutering their pets.
  • Provided over $600,000 in funding for critical veterinary care to those who could not afford it.
  • Tackled pet evacuation with our Disaster Animal Response Team
  • And most recently, acquired the Teton Valley Animal Shelter as it faced closure.

As we celebrate 25 years, we express gratitude for the support that has allowed us to make a meaningful difference in the lives of both pets and their owners. Our commitment to addressing local pet-related issues remains unwavering. We are here to help, and we thank you for trusting PAWS with your generous donations to sustain our mission then, now and in the future.

Cheers to many more years of compassion and service! 🐾✨

Amy Moore

Executive Director

2006 – present